“I Travel Because”

Let’s go, it’s Day 4..

When I started to think about what I wanted to blog today.. I looked at my refrigerator door and I thought about the places I’ve traveled and how I always wanted to venture to places I had read or seen in books when I was a little girl…

My Travel Map

The dynamic of my life and traveling changed in 2001… many things happened that year… I was diagnosed with cancer in Jan, 2001, then  9/11 (I’m retired airline) happened.. that day effected all of us.  On that beautiful, sunny Tuesday morning, I had an appointment at MD Anderson Cancer center, but it was too crazy that day.. with everything happening. I didn’t want to go to the medical center, I wanted to be with my airline family, so I reported for duty.. it was “all hands on deck”.  They had taken care of me while I was going thru chemo, now it was time for me to step-up to the plate.

I mentioned 2001, because in 2000, I used to travel of course to see sites and enjoy the new adventures in each country; but, I always shopped until I dropped, had to find that rare or unusual items to bring back home..  I collected way too much stuff… I truly forgot to take in the beauty of each country and savor the moment…

Now, when I travel… all I need to purchase is a magnet from the country I traveled and have my camera to take pictures of my family/friends making great memories together.  Yes, I still bring something back for my friends; but, I now know they don’t have to be extravagant gifts.. just something nice and to know i was thinking about them.

Good friends! Good food! Good fun in Paris
Good friends! Good food! Good fun in Paris

As I keep on this travel blogging journey, I am looking forward to reading my fellow bloggers sites and to find that next adventure I am ready to share with my friends..

It’s always great to celebrate and share your adventures with family and friends.

Mother's Day weekend with my traveling Divas
Mother’s Day weekend with my traveling Divas

“I travel because” …… There’s much for us to see, learn and share… 

Safe travels….

23 thoughts on ““I Travel Because”

      1. I keep mine on the side with a little frame around them.. the ones from the US in one place and those from Europe to the side. Yes it does bring back sweet memories of places visited! I look forward to following your adventures.

        Liked by 2 people

  1. I agree friends don’t need extravagant gifts from your travels, simple gifts are enough as a reminder you remembered then. Glad to know you recovered from cancer and have more time to enjoy travel and life. There is much to see, learn and share indeed. 🙂 God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for sharing your story. 2001 was a big life changer for a lot of people. I have friends and family that have been through cancer treatments and obviously from your post, you are a strong person!

    I traveled a lot as a child since I grew up a military brat. 🙂 My bucket list includes traveling through all 7 continents. I look forward to reading more about your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

